“OSCARS® OPENING CEREMONY: LIVE FROM THE RED CARPET” AIRS SUNDAY AT 7PM EST

ABC and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today “Oscars® Opening Ceremony: Live From The Red Carpet,” the ultimate opening event and highly anticipated lead-in to the live telecast of the 88th Oscars hosted by Chris Rock on Sunday, February 28. This 90-minute special, hosted by “Good Morning America” anchor Robin Roberts and "LIVE with Kelly and Michael" co-host and “GMA” co-host Michael Strahan, begins at 7:00 p.m. EST/4:00 p.m. PST on ABC and is the only official red carpet event. Additionally, from 7:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. EST, ABC is the only telecast broadcasting live exclusively from the red carpet.

Roberts and Strahan will be joined by “Good Morning America” co-anchor Lara Spencer, “GMA” news anchor Amy Robach, along with special contributors Jess Cagle, editorial director of PEOPLE and Entertainment Weekly, and Yahoo Style editor in chief and “FABLife” co-host Joe Zee.

This star-studded special features interviews with the nominees, presenters and performers arriving on the red carpet plus gives viewers an ultimate insiders’ view of all the pre-show excitement.

For the second consecutive year, Oscar show producers and the Academy tapped ABC’s Lincoln Square Productions team to produce the red carpet show. It will be executive produced by John R. Green and directed by Jeff Winn.

The 88th Oscars will be held on Sunday, February 28, 2016 at the Dolby Theatre® at Hollywood & Highland Center® in Hollywood and will be televised live on the ABC Television Network at 8:30 p.m. EST/5:30 p.m. PST. The Oscars, executive produced by David Hill and Reggie Hudlin, will be televised live in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.